© 2023 website design by Rachael Fraser

"Heatley is becoming a master of American Noir in the vein of Jim Thompson and James M. Cain."

-David Nemeth

Kindle and Paperback Available

The Newest

Release from

Paul Heatley

 

For the medium of novella, Heatley manages to provide more depth, character and substance than many heftier novels. In reading An Eye For An Eye I found myself quickly engrossed in the characters, who offer intriguingly complex and compelling motives around a tightly woven and gritty plot. With witty dialogue and wonderful pacing, this gripping thriller has all the attitude and grit of Guy Ritchie's Lock Stock, with a delectable North East flavour.​

KATY HULME - AUTHOR

TOM LEINS - AUTHOR

Paul Heatley has this genre down pat and few other can top his style. Step into the dark and enjoy the fun.

GRADY HARP  -  SAN FRANCISCO REVIEW OF BOOKS

Paul Heatley is one of the most compelling short story writers currently working in the UK, and An Eye For An Eye is a novella-length follow-up to his terrific story The Straightener (as published by Near To The Knuckle). Set in Heatley’s native North East, this is a grim, gripping thriller that oozes nastiness throughout. The narrative is enjoyably queasy, and splattered with regular doses of brutal, bloody violence. The circumspect Graeme Taylor is a great lead character – unflashy yet fully rounded – and I, for one, hope that Heatley seeks to explore this blasted, blighted environment again, as these characters have plenty more mileage left in them. British crime fiction doesn’t get much more vital – or more visceral – than this. 

Paul Heatley’s Fatboy is brilliant. A perfect example of smalltown noir worthy of Jim Thompson or Dave Zeltserman.

PAUL D BRAZILL - AUTHOR

 

Contact the Author